World Cup Diet

Leave it to me to find the fastest way to gain 75 lbs. in a one month period. By the end of the WC in the middle of July, that may be my reality! While knocking around town looking for a place to have dinner, my friend and I got the brilliant idea to honor a team that played in the World Cup that day. It so happened that Greece played that day so we decided to have Greek food. Alas, the World Cup Diet was born. Here is what has been on the hit list so far:      

I had a great falafel wrap, loaded with spicy tahini sauce in honor of Greece while my friend had a nice tomato and cucumber salad. I plan to “honor” Greece again by making a trip to San Jose’s Falafel Drive-In, for a falafel sandwich and a banana milkshake www.falafelsdrivein.com as featured on Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives.      

Days later, in honor of Mexico’s great win against France, I made a tasty huevos rancheros breakfast for myself, topped with my own homemade salsa later followed by an organic burrito which probably would have horrified my grandmother. (Healthy, organic, and Mexican don’t mix and are considered to be sacrilege).      

Over the weekend, though on the fence about whether or not to celebrate Italy’s so-so job against New Zealand, I got over it and managed to make a  penne pasta dish with plump Roma tomatoes, rosemary from my garden, olive oil, sea salt, and a little Cabernet goat cheese. Viva Italia.      

Call me psychic because I didn’t know Germany was going to win this week but I managed to have a healthy but yummy piece of apple strudel the night before Germany won their game. Again, organic and would horrify any hausfrau but it’s the thought that counts, ja?      

This weekend will be all about honoring the Yankee. Win or lose from here on out, there’s no denying the U.S. placed 1st in their group the first time since 1930, so it’s time to celebrate big. I will be having the biggest, sloppiest, drippiest, most disgusting cheeseburger I can get my hands on with a side of seasoned fries and maybe a chocolate milkshake. No, it won’t be organic.       

USA! USA! USA! USA!

Any of these go great with either a well-made Bloody Mary if you are getting up first thing in the morning to watch the early games, or a nice refreshing mojito (or two) for the afternoon games. Both of those contain fresh ingredients so as far as I’m concerned they count as health food.      

I still have a hit list including Serbian food which I have had in the past and really liked, and African, which I haven’t had in a while but have been craving, and of course, South American. Australia is still in it but I can’t choke down Vegemite to save my life so I’ll honor them with a package of Tim Tams. You may have to hit the gym more often under this diet plan. If not possible, buy one of those inflated ball thingies and bounce up and down while you’re watching the game. I have found that at least you feel like you’re doing something other than just sitting and watching the game.    

The day after the World Cup ends, I’ll post about the World Cup Detox. Until then…….      

Any other suggestions????    🙂

2 thoughts on “World Cup Diet

  1. This is the first time I can say this to my best friend…. ” I’m so glad I live hours away from you”
    I would have been there eating like that with her.

Leave a Reply

