San Francisco Pride-40 and Fabulous!

 

       

       

San Francisco Pride has been going strong for 40 years. I have always loved the joy and diversity the Pride Parade brings and love how it evolves every year. This year marked the 40 year anniversary of Pride and the event was nothing less than absolutely fabulous!        

I don’t go every year but when I do go, I tell everybody not to miss the Dykes on Bikes. This kicks off the parade and it’s simply awesome. Market Street is filled with every type of motorcycle you can think of, which to my dismay is now including Vespas. Don’t get me wrong, I love Vespas. I think they’re precious and even a Vespa is too much for me to handle. But in the old days, Market Street would shake from the overwhelming sound of Harleys revving up at the same time. That noise would have scared the crap out of the Road Warrior. No matter. The more the merrier. Strength in numbers, girls.  

Gavin Newsom in the hood

      

  Gavin Newsom showed up but we thought it was kind of weird because we saw the car with his name on it but no Gavin. He was actually walking in front of his car, among the crowd so he could get up close and personal. He still pisses me off sometimes but the man knows how to work a crowd.      

Some of the recognizable names in the parade were the Backstreet Boys, Andy Bell from Erasure, and the author Alice Walker, among other local favorites like Reverend Cecil Williams of Glide Memorial church. Love him.       

  

There are many different groups marching in the parade representing various organizations but I took notice of all the beautiful families participating in the parade as well as observing. I also loved the major corporations who showed up in huge numbers such as Kaiser and Google, whose crowds were as crazy and excited as everyone else, and happy to take part in the celebratory atmosphere. It’s definitely something that not everyone can appreciate and that is fine. Change the channel if you don’t like it. But if experiencing something colorful, joyful, fun, creative, inclusive, and downright happy is not for you than you’re simply missing out. I’ll be back for more next year!      

  

Happy Pride to EVERYBODY!!!!       

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

        

I have more photos on Flickr.       

Leave a Reply

