Eat,Pray,Love-The Interactive Experience

Maybe I shouldn’t be promoting rule-breaking behavior but I just wouldn’t be me if I didn’t.

My friend and I had the day off from work and decided to see Eat, Pray, Love when she mentioned that she wanted to grab a bite to eat before the movie. We didn’t have time to sit down for lunch since the movie was about to start but she was hungry so we walked over to the Italian restaurant across the street from the theater and proceeded to rifle through the menu. She said she wanted some spaghetti and I thought, How the hell is she going to wolf down spaghetti before the movie? But wait! She could shove it into her bag and enjoy it while watching the movie. I might even get a bite! What could be better than watching Eat, Pray, Love while happily shoveling spaghetti into our faces? Ah yes. Another great idea born. We’re full of them. Not to mention, I didn’t start out hungry but once she got the food in hand, it actually looked pretty good and we were in the middle of an opportunity so I had to take part. So, based on our research, we discovered a great way to have an interactive experience while watching Eat, Pray, Love. Here is what is required:

Step 1.)  Bring a bag big enough and inconspicuous enough to hide an order of spaghetti and meatballs.

Step 2.)  Order enough spaghetti for you and your viewing partner(s). I can tell you that it’s even better if everybody gets a meatball. Make sure that your take-away order is wrapped well enough so you don’t have a horrible mess on the bottom of your bag.

Step 3.) Bring enough napkins. Don’t forget, you’re trying to maneuver a fork full of spaghetti into your mouth in the dark, relying only on the light from the movie to keep it off of your lap.

Step 4.)  You will be able to use your peripheral vision to decipher whether or not people are starting to stare at you. Just play dumb and keep watching the movie. They should have thought of this themselves.

Step 5.)  If you didn’t get enough spaghetti during the movie, go home and make some more. Watching all the food in the movie can turn you into a lab rat, responding to visual impulses.

Alternative:   If spaghetti is too messy and cumbersome, just wrap up a slice of pizza and shove that into your bag. However, those in Chicago and New York should not attempt this. The aromas from deep dish Chicago style pizza and New York style thin crust pizza will most definitely permeate throughout the movie theater and get you thrown out in a heartbeat. There’s no way to keep those aromas hidden so don’t even try.

If you are lucky enough to live close to San Francisco or Madison, WI., you might watch this or another movie at either of the Sundance Cinemas. They have a full bar and bistro style food you can take into the theater with you. Some menu items include Ahi Tuna Tartare, Pesto Chicken Pizza, Meatloaf Sandwich, and Creme Brulee. Those are just a few examples.

http://www.sundancecinemas.com

Or you can fill up a really big bag.

4 thoughts on “Eat,Pray,Love-The Interactive Experience

  1. I’ve always wondered why we women carry around those big bags. Now I’m excited about all of the take-out possibilities I can sneak into theaters. I think it’s great that you got to eat spaghetti with Julia Roberts, though I’m guessing you had finished yours well before she started digging into her plate! Funny post!

    • I hate to admit this but ya, we were almost finished by the time she got to Italy! Notice I didn’t dish out any advice on self control! Thanks for checking out my silly post. 🙂

  2. I thought bringing in my own popcorn in a too-large plastic bag, wrapped around my midsection, was a mildly clever way to avoid the ripoff pricing in theaters, but spaghetti in a purse is way cooler and riskier…you wear your “I’m just gonna do this!” badge with ease and honor. Not surprisingly!

Leave a Reply

