Tales of the Kitty-TV Addict

Well, we created a monster. In the effort to use entertainment as a distraction for three cats wanting to kill each other, my roomie and I bought Cat DVD’s and to our surprise, all three kitties were glued to the screen. However, weeks later, we discovered that one of the cats has the potential to be a couch potato if the show happens to grab his interest. Gizmo, the unruly teenager who likes to terrorize everyone, is typical in that he  seems to have an interest in watching other cats, not just himself. I should mention that this cat is incredibly vain, often seen staring at himself in the mirror for long stretches of time. He’s doesn’t play with the mirrored image, just stares admiringly. But on this night, just a regular night on the couch, I was channel surfing and stopped on Animal Planet which was broadcasting Cats 101. I was half asleep and getting ready for bed when I noticed out of the corner of my eye that Gizmo was slowly creeping up to the t.v. to get a closer look at the 40 lb. cat that had an obvious weight problem. That was bizarre enough but I had no idea that the ADD feline, would be enthralled enough to watch the entire 30 minute show. Sure enough, after the obese cat story was finished, he stuck around to “learn” about kittens, Domestic Shorthair cats, British Shorthair cats, and Munchkins.

He even sat through diet commercials, having the uncanny ability to figure out that there was more to come after the break.

I was so tired that cute as this was, I just wanted to go to bed but I caught myself feeling like it would be rude to turn off his show if he was so into it. I mean, how would I feel if he stepped on the remote and turned off No Reservations? Fair is fair. I stayed up long enough for the show to end and sure enough, he walked off when the credits starting rolling. Idiot or genius? You decide. (I mean him, not me. I already know my standing having watched a cat watch 30 minutes of tv.)

5 thoughts on “Tales of the Kitty-TV Addict

Leave a Reply

