Happy Thanksgiving from the Wandering Woman!

This is the time of year that we all hopefully take a moment and reflect on what we are thankful for. It’s hard not to notice that people have really been challenged this past year and don’t feel that they have much to feel any gratitude for. And who can blame them? When you’re trying to get a job after not having one for a while or trying to hang on to your house, or maybe even lost everything this year, it’s nearly impossible to be hopeful much less thankful. I’ve had a challenging year myself but somehow have been able to tell myself that everything is temporary. Challenges are meant to teach us something though most of us have enough character without having to deal with the house falling on top of us. I guess if I’ve learned nothing else this year, I’ve been reminded that we have to be grateful for TODAY. That’s it. I haven’t been able to venture off this year the way I would have liked but instead I found my partner and learned to explore where we live, making me appreciate home instead of looking outward. That’s not to say that my wanderlust has been squelched or that I don’t dream of going to Africa every day of my life, but for finding him, I’m grateful.

Which leads me to our challenge. In the middle of our whirlwind tour of dining around San Francisco and planning all of the fabulous trips we’re going to take together, we were forced to only think about today. He was diagnosed with cancer in the fall, and though his prognosis is very good, we’ve had to answer to the challenge. I’ve watched him soldier on and go to work in spite of feeling sick from chemotherapy, while constantly concerned about how he is affecting me and making sure I’m not upset by all of this . (Impossible.)  The lesson I’ve learned from him is that if he can go through all of this and still pick himself up and live everyday, I have nothing to complain about. (Though it’s hard for a leopard to change it’s spots.)

So today,  I’m so incredibly grateful for his health and him having a good day. He’s able to do what he loves which is cook and make great food for those he loves. I’m also grateful that my friends and family who have been so supportive, are also healthy and relatively happy. Not everybody can be wildly happy all the time but I think everybody is pretty darn close to it. I’m also grateful that my Phoebe kitty is still playing like a kitten and am so grateful for the wonderful connections I’ve made through my little blog. Live for today, enjoy every minute, and tell your peeps that you love them. You might find that you have more in your life than you thought!

Happy Thanksgiving!

7 thoughts on “Happy Thanksgiving from the Wandering Woman!

  1. As Neeks and rawsilkandsaffron said, such a beautiful post!

    I am so sorry to learn about your partner’s health challenges, WW, but admire so much your positive outlook. That is often the best medicine, and how lucky he was to find you, too – to have such a caring and supportive person at his side during such a difficult time.

    Wanderlust is my favorite word, and I know from my own experience that it’s hard to put some big trips on the back burner. But, even though AA Hubby and I have moved (to be where the paying jobs are, as compared to where they weren’t in CT!), and we are exploring a completely new area, it’s easy to say “Oh, I’ll get to that eventually, or see thus and so some day.” So we are seizing the day and pretending we’re tourists in our own backyard. I kind of laugh at myself for yearning so much to travel to distant lands when I realize people in distant lands are yearning to come here! LOL

    Thoughts and prayers going your way!

    AA

    • Thanks so much AA! And congrats on the move! You’re right in treating it as a new adventure and I can’t wait to read all about them. Thanks for the warm thoughts and best wishes!

      WW

Leave a Reply

